Celiac disease is an immune system problem, or an “autoimmune disorder.” More than 2.5 million Americans have it.
If you have celiac disease and eat a food that contains gluten (a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley), your body attacks your small intestine. This causes damage and keeps your body from getting what it needs from the food you eat.
You’ll need to avoid any foods made with wheat and wheat flour. You also can’t eat foods that contain any of the following grains because they also have gluten in them:
- Graham flour
Talk to your doctor about whether you can eat oats. They could be a great addition to your diet, because some people with celiac disease aren’t bothered by oats. Your doctor will probably recommend that you only choose oats that are labeled gluten-free, to rule out the possibility of them being tainted with wheat …
click NEXT to read more …